Split: Film Review

This is the first film of the year, that I haven’t read any reviews for beforehand. Although I did have mixed feelings about the film as it was written and directed by M. Night Shyamalan. Who in my opinion has had a pretty up and down career. In his earlier days, The Sixth Sense and Signs, I thought was great, and more recently The Visit. I won’t be posting any spoilers.

One of the reasons I had to watch this, was being a fan of James Mcavoy and Jessica Sula. This was probably the most complex role, James Mcavoy has probably played, and it was done so well. There is not enough commendation in the world to commend him on the role. I’ve been a fan of Jessica Sula since her portrayal of Grace Blood in Skins. Although it was just a supporting role in Split. She still did a good job. Anya Taylor-Joy also did a good job especially with the deep storyline of her past, thoroughly explaining her characteristic traits.

The film pays homage to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Shyamalan’s home town. Even the underground set/home to Kevin, is well built, and fits well with a zoo. Although it reminds me a lot of Central Zoo in New York. It’s also well directed, and put together film. It certainly kept me on my toes, so to speak. I’ll happily watch it over and over again. I love how it shows how complex the human mind can be, as well as the effects of trauma on mental health.

I do recommend this film in my opinion. Such a great film, one of my favourites of 2017 so far. Tweet me with your opinions: @RebeccaKLxo

~RebeccaKLXo

 

Leave a Reply

