Valerian & The City of a Thousand Stars: Film Review.

I’ve been seeing mixed reviews about this, since it’s been released. I am a big fan of the comic book series titled Valerian and Laureline. So knowing this background I would of ended up watching it anyway. I watched it anyway in 3D, as it’s meant to be the 3D film of the year. I was also intrigued by the trailer, for it’s visual effects. It’s also the largest crowd funded independent movie made. I will not post any spoilers.

Positive points to this film, in my opinion there wasn’t many. It was colourful, and very visually stunning. Of course the crew did an amazing job pulling this film off. I’m a big fan of Dane Dehaan’s acting work. Though I feel like this wasn’t his best film he’s done, I feel like he outshone Cara Delevigne. Don’t get me wrong, she’s pretty, and a great model. Though I don’t think she can act at all. Her wardrobe in the film was beautiful though. I want some of the pieces for myself.

Overall I was quite disappointed with this movie. It was pretty substance lacking, with a basic, predictable storyline. There wasn’t a huge amount of action, in the film but maybe one or two epic scenes.  The romantic feel to the story, felt forced, and wasn’t aided by Dane and Cara. I didn’t feel like they had any chemistry together. I got bored part of the way through the film, which shouldn’t happen.

This was my experience watching the film. I do know people that have really enjoyed this film. If you go see it, let me know your opinions on this film. I do recommend reading the comic book though.

~RebeccaKLxo

Leave a Reply

